join-our-email-list-button

Through the Lens


Through the Lens: The Mahaffey at 50 – A Photographic Celebration of The Arts in St. Petersburg is an historic and entertaining timeline, featuring more than 70 canvas-mounted photographs of the dazzling artists who have performed on our stage over the past five decades.

Sponsored by the Tampa Bay Times, the exhibition of oversized photographs consists of vintage images from the Times archives, dating back to the early 1960s, plus more recent works from The Mahaffey's own photographers. The earliest photo is of classical guitar great Carlos Montoya, taken at what then known as the Bayfront Theater on Oct. 1, 1965. The most recent shows Lyle Lovett and His Acoustic Group onstage in October of 2014.


Through the Lens: The Mahaffey at 50 is on view in The Mahaffey’s second-floor gallery during all publicly ticketed events.

 





< February 2018 >
S M T W T F S
1
TFO Coffee Concert: Best of British
Thu, February 01, 11:00 am
2
FLORIDA ORCHESTRA PRE-PERFORMANCE DINNER
Fri, February 02, 06:00 pm
TFO: The Music of Pink Floyd
Fri, February 02, 08:00 pm
3
G3 Pre-Performance Dinner
Sat, February 03, 06:00 pm
G3 2018 ft Joe Satriani, John Petrucci of Dream Theater, and Phil Collen of Def Leppard
Sat, February 03, 07:30 pm
4 5
Garrison Keillor "Just Passing Through"
Mon, February 05, 07:30 pm
6
BalletBoyz
Tue, February 06, 07:30 pm
7 8
ABBA MANIA
Thu, February 08, 07:30 pm
9
Tony Bennett Pre-Performance Dinner
Fri, February 09, 06:30 pm
An Evening with Tony Bennett
Fri, February 09, 08:00 pm
10
TFO Pops: Music of Star Trek & Star Wars
Sat, February 10, 02:00 pm
FLORIDA ORCHESTRA PRE-PERFORMANCE DINNER
Sat, February 10, 06:00 pm
TFO Pops: Music of Star Trek & Star Wars
Sat, February 10, 08:00 pm
11
American Rhapsody: The Gershwin Songbook
Sun, February 11, 03:00 pm
121314 15
Midtown Men Pre-Performance Dinner
Thu, February 15, 06:00 pm
The Midtown Men
Thu, February 15, 07:30 pm
16 17
TFO Masterworks: Romeo and Juliet & West Side Story
Sat, February 17, 08:00 pm
1819202122 23
TFO Masterworks: Dvorak's The New World Symphony
Fri, February 23, 08:00 pm
24
TFO Masterworks: Dvorak's The New World Symphony
Sat, February 24, 08:00 pm
25
Legendary Ladies of Motown Pre-Performance Dinner
Sun, February 25, 05:30 pm
The Legendary Ladies of Motown
Sun, February 25, 07:00 pm
2627 28
WILD KRATTS LIVE!
Wed, February 28, 06:30 pm


Become a Member Today!
Receive the star treatment while supporting arts education.