join-our-email-list-button

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 at 7:30 p.m. Tickets: $39.50, $49.50, $59.50
Share this page

China National Symphony


China National Symphony

Wednesday, January 23 at 7:30 p.m.

Direct from Beijing, The People’s Republic of China, the China National Symphony Orchestra will perform at the Mahaffey Theater on Wednesday, January 23 at 7:30 pm. This grand orchestra, credited with creating an orchestral tradition unique to China, showcases its impressive artistry and award-winning instrumentalists with music from East to West under the baton of En Shao. For the last half century, the China National Symphony Orchestra has introduced audiences throughout its homeland to an immense repertoire of classical, romantic, modern, and contemporary orchestral works by both Western and Asian composers, and has collaborated with some of the classical music world’s stars such as Yo-Yo Ma, Lang Lang, Seiji Ozawa, Charles Dutoit and Isaac Stern. The program includes the opening movement from Guan Xia’s Requiem for the Earth, written in remembrance of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake, Zhanhao He and Gang Chen’s glorious Violin Concerto Butterfly Lovers with celebrated soloist Xi Chen, and Rachmaninoff’s passionate Symphony No. 2


< February 2016 >
S M T W T F S
123456
78910 11
TFO COFFEE CONCERT: VIVA ITALIA!
Thu, February 11, 11:00 am
12
Patty Griffin, Sara Watkins & Anais Mitchell
Fri, February 12, 08:00 pm
13
TFO POPS: A VALENTINE'S POPS
Sat, February 13, 08:00 pm
14
The Hit Men at The Palladium Theater
Sun, February 14, 07:00 pm
An Evening With Todd Rundgren
Sun, February 14, 07:00 pm
15161718 19
Wild Kratts Live!
Fri, February 19, 07:00 pm
20
TFO Masterworks: Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4
Sat, February 20, 08:00 pm
21
Loretta Lynn
Sun, February 21, 07:00 pm
2223 24
Travis Tritt, Solo and Acoustic
Wed, February 24, 07:30 pm
25
The Australian Bee Gees Show
Thu, February 25, 07:30 pm
26 27
TFO MASTERWORKS: Ravel & Brahms
Sat, February 27, 08:00 pm
28
Disney Live! Mickey & Minnie's Doorway to Magic Presented By Stonyfield YoKids
Sun, February 28, 01:00 pm
Disney Live! Mickey & Minnie's Doorway to Magic Presented by Stonyfield YoKids
Sun, February 28, 04:00 pm
29


Become a Member Today!
Receive the star treatment while supporting arts education.