join-our-email-list-button

Wednesday, January 23 at 7:30 p.m. Tickets: $39.50, $49.50, $59.50
Share this page

China National Symphony


China National Symphony

Wednesday, January 23 at 7:30 p.m.

Direct from Beijing, The People’s Republic of China, the China National Symphony Orchestra will perform at the Mahaffey Theater on Wednesday, January 23 at 7:30 pm. This grand orchestra, credited with creating an orchestral tradition unique to China, showcases its impressive artistry and award-winning instrumentalists with music from East to West under the baton of En Shao. For the last half century, the China National Symphony Orchestra has introduced audiences throughout its homeland to an immense repertoire of classical, romantic, modern, and contemporary orchestral works by both Western and Asian composers, and has collaborated with some of the classical music world’s stars such as Yo-Yo Ma, Lang Lang, Seiji Ozawa, Charles Dutoit and Isaac Stern. The program includes the opening movement from Guan Xia’s Requiem for the Earth, written in remembrance of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake, Zhanhao He and Gang Chen’s glorious Violin Concerto Butterfly Lovers with celebrated soloist Xi Chen, and Rachmaninoff’s passionate Symphony No. 2


< March 2015 >
S M T W T F S
1234 5
TFO Coffee Concerts: A Taste of Opera
Thu, March 05, 11:00 am
6
PFX: The Pink Floyd Experience
Fri, March 06, 08:00 pm
7
TFO Pops: John Williams: Star Wars & More!
Sat, March 07, 02:00 pm
TFO Pops: John Williams: Star Wars & More!
Sat, March 07, 08:00 pm
8
Santana
Sun, March 08, 07:00 pm
910 11
The Sing-Off Live!
Wed, March 11, 07:30 pm
12
2nd Thursday on the Plaza
Thu, March 12, 06:30 pm
13
"1964" The Tribute
Fri, March 13, 08:00 pm
14
TFO Masterworks: Russian Extravaganza
Sat, March 14, 08:00 pm
15161718 19
One Night of Queen
Thu, March 19, 07:30 pm
20
Mike Calta's Brew Ha-Ha
Fri, March 20, 08:00 pm
21
TFO Masterworks: Mahler's Symphony No. 4
Sat, March 21, 08:00 pm
22232425262728
293031


Become a Member Today!
Receive the star treatment while supporting arts education.